Graphic Designers Pet Peeve #1

What makes me crazy is when someone asks me for advice and I give them the full, frank, honest, unadulterated information I can give them and beg them not to make the same mistakes I made and they go against my guidance.
Or, when someone is working on a project that involves some Graphic Design and I see them making a classic mistake I try and set them straight and they don’t think I know what I’m talking about because they’re trying to incorporate a current trend that “everyone else” is using. Then they’ll ask me to help them when they’ve realized the mistake they’ve made and their work falls flat on their faces.

To me, this is the greatest combination of stupidity and arrogance I can think of at the moment.

It’s like asking your mechanic if it’s OK to put a tank full of diesel fuel in your car once in a while and he tells you why you can’t but you disregard his advice because you don’t think he knows what he’s talking about.

Graphic Designers are professionals; most of us have been to college to learn the trade and have kept up with the latest software, techniques, and trends. We know what works and what doesn’t work because it’s what we do and what we are.

What’s worse is that we might have made the same mistake during school and we were lectured on why that’s a mistake; we had it drilled into our heads why you don’t put text on top of a complex background or you don’t use a decorative font for body text, or why pictures need to be properly sized for websites. Many of us had to sit down and literally be schooled on why you don’t do stupid things in graphic design and why they’re stupid in the first place. We’ve had it drilled into our heads why we should never make that mistake again so it’s especially painful watching other people do it themselves!

Would it kill some of these people to listen to their experts?

Leave a Reply

